Curry Chicken Salad

Continuing chicken week…my curry chicken salad recipe is all by taste, but here are a few guidelines and steps. Feel free to change up the measurements. I roast a whole chicken for this recipe. I have made this on several occasions, and every time I get rave reviews. They are served in mini croissants or with crackers as a dip. I tend to have this on hand when guests stay over as a snack . -ts

1 roasted whole chicken (or you can cook 3 chicken breasts skin on, bone in)
Olive oil
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
cayenne pepper
1 1/2 cups mayo (to taste)
1/3 cup dry white wine (to taste)
curry powder (to taste) generous amount
1 cup medium-diced celery (2 large stalks)
1/4 cup chopped scallions, white and green parts (2 scallions) ½+ lemon juice
almonds (optional)

  1. Remove cooked chicken meat from the bones, discard the skin, and shred chicken. I just use my hands.
  2. For the dressing, combine the mayonnaise, curry powder, lemon juice, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper in a bowl and whisk together.  
  3. Combine the chicken with enough dressing to moisten well. Add wine for moisture. I say add no matter what! Add the celery, scallions, and mix well. Refrigerate for a few hours to allow the flavors to blend. Combine with nuts before serving.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicken, Comfort food, Party food, Snacks

One response to “Curry Chicken Salad

  1. Pingback: Ina’s Roast Chicken | Nummy Num Num

Leave a comment