Three Bean Salad

Everyone has their redneck guilty pleasure right?  I believe RipleyPickles is canned smoked oysters.  I secretly (well not so secret anymore) love me some canned three bean salad.  I normally hate canned anything, except three bean salad .  The only thing canned foods are good for is your Mayan 2012 End of the World emergency kit and Thanksgiving food drives.   I have seen fancy three bean salad in jars at gourmet food stores, but I still think it contains loads of sodium, preservatives and additives.  I decided it is time to make my own!  I scoured my cookbooks and the internets for a good recipe.  I think I came up with the closest thing to canned.  – ts

3 quarts water
1 tablespoon table salt
8 ounces green beans, ends snapped, snapped or cut into one-inch pieces
8 ounces yellow/wax beans, same
1 can kidney beans rinsed and drained (fresh beans were just too time consuming so used canned whoops!)
1/2 a red onion, diced small
3/4 cup red vinegar
1/4 cup oil
3/4 cup brown sugar
salt and pepper to taste

  1. Bring the water to a boil. Add the salt and the beans, cover and cook for about 5 minutes, until tender-crisp. Blanch them in ice water and let drain for at least 10 minutes and more if needed.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the cooked green, wax and kidney beans and onion.
  3. Meanwhile, in a saucepan combine the vinegar, oil and sugar. Bring it to a boil on the stove. Remove it immediately, and pour it over the beans and onions. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Let marinade in the refrigerator for at least an hour.
1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers, Beans, Salad, Side dishes, Veggies

One response to “Three Bean Salad

  1. Pingback: Mustard & Herb Crusted Salmon | Nummy Num Num

Leave a Reply

