Bonnie’s Tomato Pie

southernartistictouch.blogspot.com

When I saw this recipe in my inbox the other day, I remembered how crazygood this stuff is and became sad that I haven’t made it in years.

Mainly because there’s just no excuse for it. The ingredient list is small and it stars two of my favorite quintessential Southern veggies: tomatoes and Vidalias. By the by, were you aware that in order to be considered “true Vidalias,” the onions must be grown in very specific parts of Georgia as defined by law? ‘Cuz I wasn’t. That’s some federally official agriculture, my man.

Anyway, good tomato pie is sweet and savory, and the basil helps to satisfy your Italian cravings while staying well below the Mason Dixon. (There’s also a full cup of mayo in here y’all, clearly it still skews “South.”) The whole process is slice, layer, slather and bake, and as I’ve heard said many times down South, ain’t nothing wrong with that.

1 pie crust
4-5 tomatoes
1-2 Vidalia onions, thinly sliced
fresh basil (a few handfuls torn)
1 cup mayo
1 cup mozzarella
1 cup cheddar
olive oil

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Prick pie crust with fork and cook according to package directions.
  3. Boil and peel tomatoes. Slice and let drain for a little while.
  4. Saute onions in oil.
  5. Layer tomatoes, onions, and basil until you run out.
  6. Mix mayo and cheeses and top tomatoes and onions with it.
  7. Cook for about 30 minutes. (It may take a little longer, so just look for browned crust and bubbly cheese.)
2 Comments

Filed under Side dishes, Southern food, Veggies

2 responses to “Bonnie’s Tomato Pie

  1. Battle Williford

    No shoutout to Lucy Lee on this one? Or has my mother been renamed Bonnie?

    • Oh I was waiting for that one! I couldn’t very well name this recipe Lucy Lee’s when it is not, in fact, Lucy Lee’s. If you would like to procure said recipe for me, I would be delighted to post it. And don’t act like you aren’t happy to see a random Bonnie mention on here…

Leave a Reply

