Shredded Chicken Tacos- Cinco de Mayo 2K11

NummyNumNum could obviously not survive without RipleyPickles and The Chef.  I cannot remember the last time I posted something, and most likely my posts were not missed.  I am back though!  In great news about my life that everyone should care about, Chef John and I are leaving NYC and heading back down to my favorite city in the states New Orleans.  Soon we are going to get real Cajun up in here.  My new goal in life is to get John Besh to do a celeb posting on our blog. Trust me I will make this happen. 
Today’s recipe is in honor of the upcoming best festival CINCO DE MAYO!  Clearly nummy LOVES all Mexican feasts regardless of a holiday, and I thought I would post a great shredded chicken taco recipe that is real simple and does not take all day to cook.   – ts

1 ½ lbs boneless chicken thighs
1 large white onion, peeled and quartered
5 cloves garlic, peeled and lightly crushed
2 bay leaves
Cumin
chili powder
1-2 chipotle pepper in sauce chopped (optional)
cilantro for garnish chopped
Salt and pepper to taste.

  1. Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and add water or stock to cover. Be generous with all seasonings.  You could even throw in a package of taco seasoning in the mix if you prefer.
  2. Turn heat to high, bring to a boil, and skim any foam that comes to the surface. Partially cover and adjust heat so mixture simmers steadily. Cook until meat is very tender, about 30 minutes. Remove from liquid and cool.  Leave liquid in pan.
  3. Shred meat with fingers. Add back to pan with liquid mix chicken with liquid to soak up more sauce.   Taste and adjust seasonings if needed.  Sprinkle with cilantro.
Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Main Course, Mexican food, Party food

Leave a Reply

