BC Potato Salad

I am a huge fan of yellow/mayo-y/creamy southern style potato salad.  My all time favorite used to be the kind that WP gets from the grocery in Horseshoe, but all that changed after eating Chef John’s mom’s potato salad.  This recipe lives up to its name.  I don’t know if I can make potato salad any other way now.  Feel free to go wild and add cheese or jalapenos. -ts

Chef John says: I love sides. Personally, I think they’re the best part of the meal, especially if we be talkin BBQ. Nothing is better than getting a side that is so damn good that you completely forget about everything else on the plate. My Mama made this for a big dinner several years ago and every time she cooks I beg and plead for her to make it. I’ve had the pleasure of eating this many times but every time I take that first bite I let out some sort of animalistic noise and my eyes rollback in my head… I can’t help it. If you want a simple description, imagine a fully loaded baked potato disguising itself as potato salad.

2  tablespoons  olive oil
2  pounds  small red potatoes, diced
1/2  medium-size sweet onion, chopped
2  teaspoons  minced garlic
1  teaspoon  coarse salt
1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground pepper
8 to 10  cooked crisp bacon slices, crumbled
1  bunch green onions, chopped
3/4  cup  prepared Ranch dressing
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Place oil in a 15- x 10-inch jellyroll pan; add potatoes and the next 4 ingredients, tossing to coat. Arrange potato mixture in a single layer.
  2. Bake at 425° for 30 to 35 minutes or until potatoes are tender, stirring occasionally. Transfer to a large bowl.
  3. Toss together potatoes, bacon, green onions, and dressing. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately or cover and chill until ready to serve.
    *If you like your potatoes crispier, bake about 10 minutes longer, stirring once.
2 Comments

Filed under Comfort food, Party food, Potatoes, Side dishes, Southern food

2 responses to “BC Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Sticky Lemon Chicken | Nummy Num Num

  2. designgurl

    Delicious! A big hit at our Easter dinner!

Leave a Reply

