Batali’s Basic Marinara Sauce

This sauce was easy. And it was also easily the best marinara I’ve had in a while. I think the carrot really brings something to the texture and taste. And you get to use an immersion blender which always makes me feel very chef-like and professional. 2 good things in my book.

Furthermore, anything that could make me forgive Mario Batali for wearing those hideous Crocs is something to take note of. I hate those things. I mean, my pajamas are comfortable, but I don’t wear them to the office. Put real clothes on. You’re a grown-ass man.

6 tbsp virgin olive oil
1 Spanish onion, diced to 1/4-inch
4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
4 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves (or 1 tsp dried)
1/2 medium carrot, finely shredded
2 28-ounce cans of tomatoes, crushed by hand and mixed well with their juices
1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
salt to taste
  1. Add oil to a sauce pan with onions and garlic. Cook over medium heat until translucent but not brown (about 10 minutes).
  2. Add the thyme and carrot. Cook 5 minutes more.
  3. Add the tomatoes. Bring to a boil and then lower the heat to just bubbling, stirring occasionally for 30 minutes. Add these fantastic meatballs and serve over angel hair pasta. Molto bene! (That’s Italian y’all. Don’t say we never taught you anything.)
4 Comments

Filed under Comfort food, Italian food, Pasta, Sauces, Veggies

4 responses to “Batali’s Basic Marinara Sauce

  1. Pingback: Meatballs in Marinara | Nummy Num Num

  2. Pingback: Tomato Sauce | Nummy Num Num

  3. bigmanaz

    Gee you get to use an immersion blender. Too bad there is no mention of that in your recipe! And Mario can wear whatever shoes he wants. I wear crocs because of severe edema in my legs and feet, thank you!

Leave a Reply

