King Cake (from a Can)

Happy Fat Tuesday!  I am sad to say that I am not blacked out in a tutu scouring the streets for coconuts/beads/booze/hand grenades right now. Instead I am in my office, working on powerpoint and holding very important conference calls.

Anyways, I am not a baker but thought it necessary to have a seasonal Mardi Gras king cake post today.  For that I turned to dear friend Chef Courtney who brought this over to my Saints Superbowl 2010 party.  This recipe may even be more semi-homemade than boozebag Sandra can handle.   I have tasted it (actual photo attached), and it was delicious!  If you want to be fancy and actually bake your king cake, I suggest using John Besh’s recipe. – ts

Chef Courtney says: This recipe is simple and dee-licious. Allows for more time drinking and catching beads.

5-6 cans Pillsbury cinnamon rolls
Icing & sprinkles

  1. Unroll all of the cinnamon rolls and braid them in a circle.
  2. Decorate with icing on the top and accent with gold, green and purple sprinkles!
  3. Add a baby or some change in there.
  4. Cook according to instructions, and you’re done!
Leave a comment

Filed under Bread, Dessert, Southern food, Special Occasion, Sweets

Leave a Reply

