Angie’s Salsa Fresca

I remember fondly stuffing my face with this salty-sweet goodness at MLSP on many a summer day. It is my former boss Angie’s recipe, and it is unstoppable. Meaning you literally won’t be able to stop eating it.

I used to make a batch and eat it on everything from quesadillas to breakfast wraps (it’s surprisingly good on eggs!), and I believe there was one day I even drank the juice straight due to an impending doctor’s appointment that required me not to eat all day. Yep, I did that. What of it?

4 large vine ripened tomatoes chopped
1/2 vidalia onion finely chopped
juice of one lime
1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
1/4 cup finally chopped fresh cilantro
1/4 teaspoon minced garlic
sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and let them set for at least 15-20 minutes so the flavors will permeate the dish. (Longer is better in my opinion as it only gets more nummy.)
  2. If you like a little heat, add one fresh jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced. (I already included this in the directions as a MUST because it is gives this a great kick.)
  3. Serve with tortilla chips.
1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers, Dips, Mexican food, Sauces, Veggies

One response to “Angie’s Salsa Fresca

  1. Pingback: Tuna Ceviche Tacos | Nummy Num Num

Leave a Reply

