Shrimp Stock

I have a confession to make: I don’t make stock. I have once or twice, but it’s not a habit, and I definitely don’t make it as much as someone who eats soup for 2 out of every 3 meals should.

That stops now. I don’t generally make New Years’ Resolutions or give up anything for Lent (because I know I’ll inevitably fail at both – what’s that saying… You can’t fail if you don’t try? That’s right kids, adopt that one early.), but I’m gonna do it right the next time. And you should too because this stuff is magical when added to Barrett’s Shrimp ‘n Grits.

2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
3 cups of uncooked shrimp shells (which means you can use the peeled shrimp for some other nummy goodness such as Peg’s Destin Shrimp)
2 small onions, chopped
2 small carrots, chopped
2 celery stalk,s chopped
2 tablespoons of tomato paste
4 thyme sprigs
6 cups of cold water
1 bay leaf
1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns
splash of white wine

  1. Heat oil in medium stockpot over medium high heat.  Add shrimp, onions, carrots and celery. Cook until the shrimp shells are bright pink, about 15 minutes.
  2. Once the shells are cooked add the tomato paste.  Add water, bay leaf, peppercorns, and thyme sprigs.  Bring almost to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer gently for 20 minutes.
  3. Strain in to a container. Let cool.  This recipe makes 3 cups, which seems like a lot, but you can freeze it up to 6 months.
4 Comments

Filed under Seafood, Soups

4 responses to “Shrimp Stock

  1. Tanya

    Best New Year’s Resolution! Real stock changes everything in a dish. I am a little spoiled because the butcher below my apartment sells me his stock for cheap. However, I need to get in the habit of making it myself too.

  2. katie

    This is tagged as Barrett’s but seems like it’s still Ashley’s 1st person POV. When does Barrett get a voice? He’s more than just a recipe book.

  3. Pingback: Barrett’s Shrimp & Grits | Nummy Num Num

  4. Pingback: Prosciutto, Peppers & Shrimp Pasta | Nummy Num Num

Leave a Reply

