Chinese Dumpling Soup

We made this last night for Paul’s 72nd birfday, and it was 100% delish. I even stepped up my grommet level and poured the excess broth from the bowls back into my tupperware to keep. Nat and Molly then told me they can’t wait to come visit me when I’m old because if I’m doing creepy stuff like that now I’ll probably hit record high levels of insane in my old age. Moral of the story: this broth is the shiz, it’s super easy, and it’s even better the day after, so make some.

8 cups low-sodium chicken or mushroom broth
1 2-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and julienned or cut into match sticks
1 tablespoon soy sauce, preferably dark
1/4 cup Shaohsing rice cooking wine or pale dry sherry (I used white wine and it was a totally acceptable sub)
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar/or 2 tablespoons black vinegar
2 teaspoons dark sesame oil
1 teaspoon sugar
Pinch of salt
2 carrots, thinly sliced on the bias- about 1 cup
24 frozen Chinese dumplings, pork, shrimp, or 1 pound package
3 scallions (white and green parts), thinly sliced
4 cups bag baby spinach
chopped cilantro (optional)
Asian chili paste (optional)

  1. Put the broth, ginger, soy, wine, vinegar, sesame oil, sugar and salt in a soup pot and bring to a boil over high heat. Adjust the heat so the broth simmers and cooks to lightly flavor with ginger, about 10-15-minutes.
  2. Add the carrots, and simmer until tender and cooked through, about 5 minutes. Just before serving, add the dumplings, cook for 3 minutes, stir in the scallions and spinach and cook until the greens wilt, about 1 minute. Divide among warm bowls and serve. Serve with chili sauce on the side if desired.

This recipe is from The Food Network. We used less spinach than called for and made extra broth because I am a soup-addict, so portion accordingly. We also had to go to the Pet Store (see Freshrita post if you don’t know what I’m talking about) to get dumplings, but it was well worth it. Cabbage, pork & mushroom dumplings are never a bad idea.

6 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Asian food, Soups

6 responses to “Chinese Dumpling Soup

  1. Tanya

    YUM!!! So glad to hear the Meekong School Scrimps and Pork turned out well too. What a great birthday dinner! I am heading to Chinatown MEOW to grab some pet store supplies for this soup.

  2. katie

    question! is there any substitute for sherry in general? I never want to buy it because I make like one or two things a year calling for it. The rest of the year it would just be an annoying bottle sitting on my counter with all the other bottles… which, at this point, are almost all Worchestershire sauce because that shit goes with everything.

    • I actually should have changed that before I posted this because I’m exactly the same way; I just used white wine (Chardonnay), and I think it’s almost totally interchangeable when you’re just looking for the kick from the alcohol and not the sherry flavor.

  3. katie

    ok good to know… there’s nothing better than white wine in food (maybe red). I put white wine in my chili last night.

  4. Fo sho. Any way you can sneak in alcohol is fine by me!

  5. Jill mcconathy

    Do you have a calorie count?

Leave a Reply

