Burgundy Mushrooms

I was first introduced to these fliptastic mushrooms in middle school when Dottie Fisher brought them to school for lunch. Kim Kyle and I used to fight over who got to drink the sauce. I think that’s exactly what Hutchison (“The comprehensive girls’ school in Memphis” according to their newly-minted website slogan) wanted to turn us into: quibbling, mushroom-munching sauce-chuggers. How ladylike!

The recipe comes from Heart & Soul, the best cookbook I’ve ever owned.

2 pounds mushrooms
1 2/3 cups burgundy
1 cup beef broth
1 /4 cup butter
2 teaspoons Worcestershire
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dillseed
1/2 teaspoon pepper
4 cloves garlic, minced (I like to smash these instead of mincing them because it makes for easier juice-drinking. Yeah, I said it. What of it?)

  1. In a large Dutch oven or slow cooker, combine all ingredients. Bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat and simmer covered for 1 hour.
  3. Uncover and simmer 2 hours more (or until the sauce is reduced to the consistency you like).
  4. Serve hot.

I serve these as an app out of a crockpot, but H&S suggests serving them sliced over steaks which is equally slap-yo-momma fantastic.

4 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Party food, Sauces, Side dishes, Special Occasion, Veggies

4 responses to “Burgundy Mushrooms

  1. These look awesome–I’m up for mushroom anything!

    • I will personally stake the Nummy reputation on these. They’re even better the day after. Leftover heaven! Love your blog by the way. Adding it to the Nummy blogroll as we speak!

  2. Justin Pitts

    Ashley, and everyone reading….in that cookbook (Heart & Soul), that sits on my shelf here in L.A., look up “Hot Onion Souffle” and make it. It is filthy good. My mom was junior leaguing it up when this cookbook was published and most of the recipe tastings took place at my house (fat phase age 9-11). Make sure you serve it with real fritos scoops and not some “365 Organic Corn Dippers” or hippie crackers you found at whole foods (I heard ya’ll got one).

    JP

  3. JP, you speak the truth. I’ve made that before and it is a creamy fat-pot of good. I would also have to say that despite the fact that the Junior League does all kinds of good with the underprivileged and the sick and the old and all that, I still consider this cookbook their finest achievement. My priorities are totally in order.

Leave a Reply

