Candied Bacon

The real Kismet

While I was deciding which recipe to post today from my Nummy email archive, The Chef sent over this one, and it obviously trumped all the other options. And then I clicked over to find that TanyaNads had cosmically received The Chef’s bacon brainwaves down in NOLA and started the ball (of fat) rolling on her own!

Now that is what I call Kismet. Or “Bacon Thursday.” Whatever floats your boat. And what floats my boat is lard.

T-shirt from Big Bad Breakfast in Oxford, MS. Clearly, I own this.

I have had a version of this sweet, salty goodness at many an MCC wedding, which might make you think I run with a pretty posh crowd. Let me prove you wrong: When The Chef sent this over, he mentioned that this freezes well, so you should make a whole bunch.

He also mentioned that he’s actually eaten this “straight outta the freezer” and that it’s pretty good that way. Clearly, I was impressed. The man made himself a bacon lollipop. That’s just sexy.

I would suggest that you could add a little chili powder to the mix and no one would be mad, but I’ll leave that up to you. Either way, this treat is entirely worth the extra hour you’ll have to spend on The StairMaster to work it off. And that’s how long it’s been since I’ve been to the gym. I think The StairMaster is still a relevant piece of workout equipment. Fat. And. Happy.

ediblecrafts.craftgossip.com

10 slices bacon (Wright or Benton’s if you can get ‘em)
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 tsp Dijon mustard
3 tsp brown sugar
Coarse black pepper

  1. Preheat the oven to 325.
  2. Mix all ingredients except bacon together.
  3. Place bacon on parchment paper on sheet pans.  Lay in single layer. (This is where the skewer would come in if you are presentation-conscious.)
  4. Bake for 15 minutes, then brush with glaze and bake for another 5 minutes. Munch heartily. (But remove that stick before you. Nummy is not yet wealthy enough to retain counsel.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers, Party food, Restaurant Recipes

Leave a Reply

