Zucchini Crudo ~ a.k.a. Zucchini Summer Salad

As many of you know, I started a new job this week, and I’m not entirely sure what I’m doing. And as it turns out, I’m not good at being clueless. At work, that is. I’m great at it on the weekends (See: the black eye I gave myself from tripping over Emily’s computer last Friday).

Photo from kissmyspatula.com

Anyway, my confusion over words and acronyms I don’t understand stops now, which is why I chose to dumb-down The Chef’s title of this post from “crudo” to “salad.” That is the speed I’m running on, people, so shift back a gear.

This salad reminds me of a simpler time when my biggest worry was what kind of wine I was going to drink alongside my Chef-prepared farm fresh MFM veggies… also known as  last week. Seems like a year.

Anywho, this salad was fresh and fantastic, and it was the perfect side to the Seared Scallops with Mango Vinaigrette. The adorable baby carrots we had with it didn’t hurt either (recipe coming soon).

Lemon thyme vinaigrette:
1 shallot, minced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 lemons, zested and juiced
1/3 cup olive oil
1 tsp fresh thyme

  1. Combine all ingredients except oil.
  2. Slowly add oil while whisking.

Zucchini Crudo:
2 lbs zucchini, sliced as thin as possible (a mandoline or the slicer on your food processor is perfect for this)
2 tbsp crushed walnuts
shaved parmesan cheese, about 6 thin slices
salt to taste

  1. Place zucchini in a strainer and sprinkle with salt.  Let it sit for about 10 minutes.
  2. Toss zucchini with dressing and add walnuts. Top with parmesan cheese. Serve cold. With lots of white wine.
1 Comment

Filed under Italian food, Marinades, Salad, Salad dressings, Sauces, Side dishes, Veggies

One response to “Zucchini Crudo ~ a.k.a. Zucchini Summer Salad

  1. You got it! Attributed. Sorry for the oversight. Thanks for the beautiful photo!

Leave a Reply

