Thai Lemon Chili Shrimp- Goong Maa Now

Last night’s dinner…Asian SCRIMPS!  This may have been the easiest quickest recipe ever; start to finish including marinating time was about 20 minutes.  Next time I think I will make my own sweet chili sauce, but this time around I just used the pre-made stuff.  If you can’t find kaffir lime leaves lime zest is ok. I served this with summer rolls and lemon herb quinoa on the side to be healthy.

I think serving with a fresh baguette to soak up the sauce would be ideal.  Back to the shrimp tails debate from this post, I am all about keeping the tails.  Good looking food always tastes better.  Oh and chef Katie, get on this recipe because you will love. -ts

1 pound shrimp shelled and deveined
1/3 cup sweet chili sauce
1 lemon- juice and zest
3 kaffir lime leaves sliced, substitute 1 teaspoon grated lime zest
1 teaspoon chili sauce
1 tablespoon fish sauce
3 cloves minced garlic
1 teaspoon brown sugar
¼- 1/3 cup coconut milk
Siracha (optional as this is spicy on its own)
1/4 cup cilantro chopped for garnish

  1. Marinate the shrimp in the sweet chili sauce, lemon juice, lemon zest, kaffir lime leaves, chili sauce, fish sauce, garlic and sugar for 10 or more minutes.
  2. Heat a pan.
  3. Add the shrimp, the marinade, siracha (if using) and the coconut milk and simmer (not boil) until the shrimp are cooked, about 2-3 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and mix in the cilantro.
3 Comments

Filed under Asian food, Main Course, Marinades, Party food, Seafood

3 responses to “Thai Lemon Chili Shrimp- Goong Maa Now

  1. Oooh, yum! This does look super easy and quick. I’ll have to keep it in mind for our busy weeknights. Reading through the ingredients, I already know I would love the flavors!

  2. I want your whole dinner from last night NOW. Oh BTdubs, I added some more tags and links to your posts from today because they are awesome and I want the search engines of the world to see your good work!

  3. Pingback: Sweet Chili Sauce | Nummy Num Num

Leave a Reply

